New Year

So this is my obligatory “New Year” blog post 🙂

I’ve actually been thinking about this coming year and what I want to resolve to make different for a few weeks now. Perhaps part of that is because one of my resolutions was to stop procrastinating. Last night at church, Pastor Mark informed us that statistics have shown that the resolutions that are least likely to stick are ones where someone has resolved to stop something. Then, my husband wrote a great little diddy about his one word resolution and I decided that I liked that idea so I’ve come up with a word that encompasses all of my New Year’s Resolutions:

Discipline.

I’ve kind of always been lazy. My whole life. Not like, sit on the couch drinking beer and being a slob kind of lazy, but just not a high-energy person. I’m not a full-fledged Type A personality, I’m not a planner, I’m not organized, I’m rarely early when arriving somewhere, and I’m almost always last minute with things. I don’t know why I’m this way, and I think as I’ve gotten older my attitude has changed towards these things but my habits haven’t. This has left me, at times, completely frustrated with myself because I want to be these things, but 28 years of life is hard to break. I’ve also become way more negative than I’ve ever been in my life. I used to be pretty carefree and although I’ve always been insecure, I’ve been content. Maybe it’s life’s adversity and reality that has corroded my heart, but I’m just plain old pessimistic. I compare my life with others waaaaaaaay too much and feel like I should care about all the same life-suffocating rubbish that this world cares about. See…how negative did that sound?!?! Geez!

This is where my one word resolution comes in. Discipline: “activity, exercise, or a regimen that develops or improves a skill; training”.

Colossians 2:5 states, “5 For though I am absent from you in body, I am present with you in spirit and delight to see how disciplined you are and how firm your faith in Christ is. ”

So this year, I’m going to be disciplining myself in multiple facets of my life.  No more making excuses, no more being too tired to read, or write, or clean. I don’t know exactly what this will look like since each area of life will look different. Perhaps it will be setting a scheduled time every day to read and study. Maybe it will be making a list of home improvement projects that need to be done and putting them on a calendar, then prioritizing that time to get stuff done! Most likely, it will be making a conscience effort, along with accountability from my husband to CHOOSE to accomplish the things that I need or want to do. It’s going to be about training myself and correcting past behavior that has inhibited me from fully living purposefully.

I’m excited about this coming year. I in no way am expecting this resolution to make my life perfect or help me “have it all together”. Believe me, I am fully aware of things coming our way this year that will consume me, and bring me to my knees in humility. I’m also aware that discipline comes through times of calm and times of chaos, and more importantly, is necessary during both times of life. But, part of this new season of discipline is going to be CHOOSING JOY.

So, expect a more disciplined, carefree, JOYFUL me in this coming year!

2 responses to “New Year

  1. You could have been writing the words of my heart. I feel so similarly as I approach this coming here. Thanks for sharing, Linds 🙂

Leave a Reply

